“Growing Up”

Published December 9, 2014 by kairikainfsb3

Mom, I can’t wait till I’m big like you and I can wear a bra and go to work – Me as a Young Girl around 6 years old

Every kid at some point during their lives will say something along the words of “I can’t wait to grow up” and then we do grow up and find out that growing up isn’t as fun, exciting and cracked up as we made it sound like as children. We find out that being an adult has many responsibilities that we didn’t think of as young children. We realize that all the free time we thought that our parents had they really didn’t have. Saying this brings me to the 2nd part of this post.

If I could go backwards in life and redo my childhood I’d start from age 8. That’s when I started babysitting our neighbors kid and from there was babysitting every weekend with one weekend being 4 kids at once various ages. Instead of being excited to be a babysitter and volunteering for the task I would of kindly declined. At age 12 I started volunteering at our local Children’s Museum for 6-8 hours a day. I was there for a good 4 years stopped around age 16. It was a fun place don’t get me wrong having the younger kids come in all excited to make paper and want to color them for someone they love was one of the most amazing experiences I had at the time and it made me very happy.

Then that age came, “Yes that age” you know what i’m talking about when I say that. I turned 16 and my parents wanted me to start thinking about getting a job and I was very resist on doing so. However, they kept pushing and I landed my first job at Tim Hortons which lasted 3 days (Thats a post for another day) and went to Best Buy for 5 years. I have been in the working world since that day and like I mentioned before if I could turn back time and kindly decline the offer to babysit, turn around and run down the hill to join my friends playing on the playground behind our housing building. I would of taken my childhood to be a kid and not grow up fast.

If anyone is reading this and you are now a parent, aunt, uncle, grandparent or someone a child looks up to; please encourage them to be a kid and not wish to grow up to fast too soon.

Leave a Reply

